Results

Benjamin Simmons mail: benjamin.simmons@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: benjamin.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 18:12:57 +0000
The Arrest Capital Of The United States
When you cross into the New Orleans suburb of Gretna, Louisiana, over the Crescent City Connection bridge there is no sign that says, “Welcome to the Arrest Capital of the United States.” But it is.
Douglas Ellis mail: douglas.ellis@geheime.club | web: douglas.geheime.club | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:54:12 +0000
The Pentagon Is Lifting Its Ban On Trans Soldiers — Here's What You Need To Know
Today, the Pentagon announced that it is lifting its ban on transgender service members immediately that allow the acceptance of trans service members with a few exceptions. The historic announcement is a major victory for the transgender community, one that comes after years of fighting and a lengthy approval process.
Kevin Patterson mail: kevin.patterson@horse-d.eu | web: kevin.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:08:35 +0000
Stopping The Next Financial Crisis With... Six Degrees Of Kevin Bacon
The network science behind six degrees of Kevin Bacon just well may have been able to stop the 2008 financial crisis.
Harold Cox mail: harold.cox@ventredi.eu | web: harold.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 11:46:22 +0000
The Move That’ll Up Your Website’s Performance
HostGator invests millions of dollars every year in technology that makes your website perform better. That means faster load times, response times and happier customers. Use the promo code DIGG and get 77% off your plan.
Philip Richardson mail: philip.richardson@pulpfrictions.com | web: philip.pulpfrictions.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:49:22 +0000
Terrence Malick's New IMAX Film 'Voyage Of Time' Looks Crazy Gorgeous
Documentary film "Voyage of Time" has been nearly four decades in the making and spans the entire history of the cosmos. BRB pre-ordering our tickets.
Peter Burns mail: peter.burns@geheime.club | web: peter.geheime.club | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:23:29 +0000
What The Reviews Are Saying About The New Tarzan Movie
On Friday, the King of the Jungle will swing back onto the big screen in live-action for the first time in 18 years. With Alexander Skarsgård​ and Margot Robbie leading the way, can "The Legend of Tarzan" be this summer's breakthrough blockbuster?
Arthur Turner mail: arthur.turner@thedarkswans.com | web: arthur.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 19:18:07 +0000
The Bathing Machines Of The 19th Century
Back in the 18th and 19th century, the ladies just couldn't strip to their swimwear and run towards the waves on the beach. To help women maintain their modesty and dignity, a simple contraption called the “bathing machine” was developed.
Craig Thompson mail: craig.thompson@pulpfrictions.com | web: craig.pulpfrictions.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:53:37 +0000
Rollover Crash Testing A Truck Looks Like A Lot Of Fun
Flipping the truck you're driving? Bad. Flipping a truck with no driver in a controlled environment? Good. Very good.
Chris Phillips mail: chris.phillips@hockeymail.de | web: chris.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 19:18:07 +0000
Gmail Understood My Breakup Better Than I Did
We already live in a world where machines can figure out what movie we want to watch or food we want to eat. What happens when they start to speak for us.
Todd Fisher mail: todd.fisher@ventredi.eu | web: todd.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:08:35 +0000
108 Years Ago Today, Space Debris Blew Up Over Russia With The Power Of A Nuke
Compressed and battered by tremendous forces, the object — maybe a small chunk of rock or possibly ice — got about 5-10 kilometers from the ground before it succumbed, exploding like a gigantic multi-megaton bomb.
Ryan Cox mail: ryan.cox@geheime.club | web: ryan.geheime.club | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:53:37 +0000
Art Experts Try To Guess Famous Works Based Off A 5-Year-Old's Descriptions
Little Alexa does a better job explaining than we would.
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 19:18:07 +0000
Tudor's Biscuit World Is The Best Thing About West Virginia
Every search for what it means to be West Virginian ends where the biscuit sandwich (allegedly) began.
Louis Shaw mail: louis.shaw@affablyhomonym.com | web: louis.affablyhomonym.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 18:12:57 +0000
Google Trends Does A Poor Job Of Pointing At Specific Trends
You can point to spikes in search terms, but who is searching, why they're searching or just how many are searching isn't exactly clear.
Henk Jongmans mail: jongmansh@gmail.com | web: https://plus.google.com/u/0/102961349602300242299/ | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 14:57:51 +0000
The Future Of Human Transportation Is Tiny Foot-Powered Traincars
Sure, it doesn't make the most appealing sound. But you'll get used to that by 2030, when all 11.5 billion humans traverse Earth (and Mars) using this exact technique. Big props to Tomáš Moravec from Bratislava, Slovakia for inventing it.
Kevin Gibson mail: kevin.gibson@innovation-km.com | web: kevin.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:05:42 +0000
Jupiter Has Auroras Too And They're Spectacular
A Big Blue Aurora joins Jupiter's Great Red Spot in this incredible ultraviolet image taken by the Hubble spacecraft.
Vincent White mail: vincent.white@daftest.website | web: vincent.daftest.website | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 12:51:28 +0000
The Get Lit Guide: How To Make The Best Holiday Of The Year Better
Independence Day is the best holiday of the year, in our humble and correct opinion. It’s got sunshine, fireworks and hardly any guilt trip from mom for not flying in for the weekend. Now here’s how to make it better.
Donald Simmons mail: donald.simmons@thedarkswans.com | web: donald.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:49:22 +0000
The Entirety Of This Unnerving Vlog Was Written By Artificial Intelligence
Think computers work need a still petite increment help current mediocrity? Yes certain.
Steven Ramirez mail: steven.ramirez@daftest.website | web: steven.daftest.website | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 18:12:57 +0000
America’s Most Dangerous Mosquitoes
there are about 174 species of mosquitoes in the United States, but only a few spread disease. Here are six of the most common disease-spreading offenders endemic to the United States.
Lee Mitchell mail: lee.mitchell@thedarkswans.com | web: lee.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:05:42 +0000
Inside The Global Terror Watchlist That Secretly Shadows Millions
The database contains profiles on millions of "heightened-risk individuals," and is used by dozens of leading banks, governments, and spy agencies.
Nicholas Dixon mail: nicholas.dixon@ventredi.eu | web: nicholas.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 11:46:22 +0000
Magnetic Earbuds Designed For Movement
These aluminum Bluetooth earbuds are magnetic, so they'll never pop out of your ears while running around. Grab some now and get 50% off.
Louis Reyes mail: louis.reyes@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: louis.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 17:08:35 +0000
Why You Should Make Beer-Can Cabbage This Summer
Sure, you might wonder if stuffing a hollowed-out head of cabbage with a can of beer is mere insanity. But I promise you it's a glorious thing, a vegetarian preparation truly worthy of the grill.
Kevin Gibson mail: kevin.gibson@ventredi.eu | web: kevin.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:51:52 +0000
Who Cares If Apples Ditches The Headphone Jack? Wireless Is The Future
By yanking the headphone jack out of the iPhone 7, Apple could start a revolution in wireless headphones. Instead of buying a new cord, we might just cut it.
Louis Hughes mail: louis.hughes@daftest.website | web: louis.daftest.website | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:51:52 +0000
Parched Land. Farmer Suicides. Forced Migration: Rural India's Crippling Drought
Life is precarious in Bundelkhand, and now it’s suffocating under an intense drought that’s affected a staggering 330 million people nationwide.
Chris Thompson mail: chris.thompson@geheime.club | web: chris.geheime.club | when: Wed, 29 Jun 2016 19:19:13 +0000
Mad Scientist's Laser Bazooka Is 33 Million Times More Powerful Than The Sun
Remember when Drake Anthony built a 40-watt laser gun last year? Well, the one he made this year is at least five times as awesome.
Lee Burns mail: yahoo@pulpfrictions.com | web: lee.pulpfrictions.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:05:42 +0000
Punks, Goths, Disco Queens, Rockers And Ravers: Portraits Of UK Nightlife
Four decades of images capturing alternative London’s unique counter-cultural history.
Kevin Ramirez mail: kevin.ramirez@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: kevin.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 11:46:22 +0000
Researchers Discover 6,000-Year-Old Telescope
Astronomers say they have discovered an ancient astronomical tool, potentially used by prehistoric humans for stargazing rituals.
Jeff Ramos mail: gmail@hockeymail.de | web: jeff.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 16:42:19 +0000
What's Inside An Airplane's Black Box, Anyway?
An black box is supposed to be indestructible... but the "What's Inside" guys still cut it open with a saw to get a look at what's inside.
Donald Ward mail: donald.ward@ventredi.eu | web: donald.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 29 Jun 2016 23:29:59 +0000
Stoya's Had Enough Of Porn's Harmful Habits, And Other Stories
How porn's bad girl is changing the industry from the inside out, Michael Phelps' final triumph and Christie's contemporary art prodigy.
Peter Kennedy mail: peter.kennedy@thedarkswans.com | web: peter.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 14:58:13 +0000
The Mysterious Origins Of Hoisin Sauce
Its name means “seafood,” but the sauce contains no seafood. The trail goes cold quickly if you want to know something substantive about the stuff that comes with your pho.
Carl Thompson mail: carl.thompson@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: carl.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 29 Jun 2016 22:07:35 +0000
How Salaries Have Changed By Job Type Since The 1960s
This chart below shows the spread for major occupation groups, for several decades. Imagine you randomly select 50 people from each group, and this is what their annual income probably looks like.
Rosemarie Perdok mail: rosemarieperdok@outlook.com | web: https://profile.live.com/cid-7cd3f97991c2d348/ | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:51:52 +0000
How Many Republicans Marry Democrats?
How many Americans are married to someone of the other party? Who are these people? Are they old or young? Where do they live? Do they vote?
Jerry Patterson mail: jerry.patterson@hockeymail.de | web: jerry.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 12:51:28 +0000
American Atheists Aren't Sure What The Atheist Future Looks Like
Reason Rally 2016 believes science can cure the social ills of religion. But it isn't sure what a "healthy" society will look like.
Ryan Kennedy mail: ryan.kennedy@affablyhomonym.com | web: ryan.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 29 Jun 2016 21:09:13 +0000
If You're Taking A Picture By The Ocean, Don't Forget About Waves
You turn your back on the ocean for one second — one second! — and it'll get ya. Screw you, ocean.
Jesse Peterson mail: jesse.peterson@innovation-km.com | web: jesse.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 12:51:28 +0000
Wax Bullet Duels Were The Paintball Fights Of 1909
Prideful men could fluff their feathers without anyone ending up dead.
Carl Ramos mail: carl.ramos@klarkzon.eu | web: carl.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 14:58:13 +0000
Why Bad Ideas Refuse To Die
They may have been disproved by science or dismissed as ridiculous, but some foolish beliefs endure. In theory they should wither away — but it’s not that simple.
Fred Patterson mail: fred.patterson@daftest.website | web: fred.daftest.website | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 15:51:14 +0000
'Sulfuric Fire Fishing' Is Extremely Clever
Apparently sardines are like moths and will gravitate towards any ol' bright light — a trait traditional Taiwanese "fire fishers" use to trap huge, swarming schools in their nets. It's very cool and oddly beautiful.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 12:51:28 +0000
Why Do We Eat Lunch At Our Desks?
Lunch as we know it today has evolved from its humble origins, but efficiency has always been its true calling card. Get ready for a future of sad desk meal-replacement beverage lunches.
Arthur Rivera mail: arthur.rivera@thedarkswans.com | web: arthur.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 11:46:22 +0000
The Marines Took 'Man' Out Of 19 Job Titles, And People Are Losing Their Minds
The Marine Corps is set to rename 19 of its job titles following a directive by Secretary of the Navy Ray Mabus to make occupational specialties more gender neutral after once-closed combat jobs were opened to women at the start of the year. And predictably boys are crying about it.
Wayne Flores mail: wayne.flores@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: wayne.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Thu, 30 Jun 2016 13:06:08 +0000
Jim Gaffigan Defends Nickelback On 'Conan'
It's "super cool" to despise Nickelback, but they're just a bunch of nice-enough dudes trying to do what they love.
Chris Butler mail: chris.butler@pulpfrictions.com | web: chris.pulpfrictions.com | when: Wed, 29 Jun 2016 18:46:10 +0000
FiveThirtyEight's Presidential Election Forecast
Three different forecasting models, 50 states and a lot of data visualization all leads to one conclusion: Hillary Clinton is sitting pretty as the favorite for the President of the United States of America.
more